In Archery there are different ways to measure your progress.  At Burton Joyce Archers we use the Archery GB handicap system and our own club awards system.

The club awards system is designed to give an Archer a simple system to gauge progression from beginner to a Second Class classification.  More details can be found on the Club Awards page.

The Archery GB classification system gives an Archer a chance to measure their performance with other Archers throughout the country.  The classifications are:

  • Archer
  • Third Class
  • Second Class
  • First Class
  • Bowman
  • Master Bowman
  • Grand Master Bowman

An Archer just starting out is classified as an “Archer”, this means they are unclassified; the top award is a Grand Master Bowman. Third, Second, First and Bowman classifications can all be earned at any club shoot or competition. Master Bowman and Grand Master Bowman can only be earned at Record Status Shoot or Tournaments.

To obtain an award you need to submit three qualifying scores to the Records Officer either by email or placing the record sheet in the club container.  For Master Bowman and Grand Master Bowman you need to send three qualifying scores to GNAS/AGB.

Indoor Classifications operate in the same way as outdoor, but are named differently; A to H. With “A” being the highest and “H” the lowest.

A full list of AGB Classification scores for each bow discipline can be found below: